• Language & Literature

    Department Chair
    Wyceta Thompson
    Wyceta.Thompson@pgcps.org
    Room: 104
    Extension: 83037

    Matea Beukelman
    m.kranjcevicbeukelma@pgcps.org 
    Room: 105
    Extension: 83038

    Julia Clarke
    Julia.Clarke@pgcps.org
    Room: 121
    Extension: 83108

    Emily Frost
    Emily.Marecki@pgcps.org
    Room: 107
    Extension: 83040

    Ruth Matthews
    Ruth.Matthews@pgcps.org
    Room: 110
    Extension: 83041



     

    Dr. Letty Maxwell
    Letty.Maxwell@pgcps.org
    Room: 103
    Extension: 83036

    Lisa Taylor
    Phelicia.Taylor@pgcps.org
    Room 118
    Extension: 83046

    Tracey Ward
    Tracey.Ward@pgcps.org
    Room:  119
    Extension: 83047

    Courtney Young
    Courtney.Young@pgcps.org
    Room: 120
    Extension: 83048

     Resources:




    Grading Policy

    To view the Departmental Grading Policy for courses offered in the English Department click here and a printable pdf document will appear in your screen.  Parents please encourage your children to be avid readers. That is the number one way to improve SAT verbal scores and your child's performance on the High School Assessment.

    Summer Reading Assignment

    All students coming to Douglass are expected to complete a summer reading assignment. Each grade level team has selected a novel that students coming into that grade will read over the summer and the students will be assessed on those novels sometime during the first week of school. 

     Please visit our Summer Assignments Page for more information about Summer Reading.

    Please note that students going into any of the AP classes have additional summer assignments that they have to complete. The AP teachers will make give the assignments to students assigned to those classes and also make additional copies available in the counseling center.