• Thursday, March 22 - Code Orange - Prince George's County Public Schools (PGCPS) – Schools and offices will open with a two hour delay. EMERGENCY PERSONNEL must report to work on time and are not eligible for liberal leave.

    • There will be no work-study transportation. (Those students should not report to school.)
    • There will be no half-day Early Childhood Center (ECC), half-day Special Education Programs, or half-day PreK.
    • Any other school program requiring transportation prior to 12 noon will NOT have transportation, including Howard B. Owens Science Center,JA Finance Park, and William S. Schmidt Center (Camp Schmidt)
    • All field trips will be cancelled.
    • Food Services will offer breakfast.
    We will re-evaluate at 6:30am.

    Jueves, 22 de marzo - Código naranja: Las escuelas comenzarán dos horas después del horario normal. El personal de emergencia no es eligible para tomar licencia liberal, y debe presentarse a trabajar puntualmente.

    • No habrá transporte para el programa Work-Study. (Esos estudiantes no deben reportarse a la escuela).
    • No habrán programas de medio día, ni en los Centros de Educación Temprana (ECC), o ni los Programas de Educación Especial. Programas del día completo empezaran dos horas demoradas.
    • Todo programa escolar que requiera transporte antes del mediodía NO lo tendrá, incluido el Centro de Ciencias Howard B. Owens, el JA Finance Park y el Centro William S. Schmidt (Campamento Schmidt).. 
    • Todos los viajes fuera de las escuelas (field trips) serán cancelados.
    • Se ofrecerá el desayuno.
    Revaluaremos a las 6:30 de la mañana.
  • News Release: New Principals on Board for the 2017-18 School Year

    August 16, 2017
    For Immediate Release
    Office of Communications

    UPPER MARLBORO, MD--Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS) is focused on developing its own administrators through the Office of Talent Development’s leadership programs. Most new principals previously served as assistant principals or principals in the school system. The school district’s administrative procedure for the principal selection process includes opportunities for family involvement to enhance the match between administrators and school communities.

    The new principals for the 2017-2018 school year are as follows; acting principal appointments are pending Board of Education approval on Aug. 24:


    School  Principal 
    Arrowhead Elementary Shannon Feinblatt 
    Beacon Heights Elementary Lila Walker
    Benjamin Tasker Middle School Kendra Hill 
    Berwyn Heights Elementary Amanda Alerich
    C. Elizabeth Rieg Regional Sabrina Jones-Smith
    Cesar Chavez Dual Language Spanish Immersion Anna Addis, Acting 
    Chillum Elementary Ryan Daniel 
    CMIT - Morningside Gonul Ozturk, Acting 
    CMIT - South Olamara Asafa, Acting 
    College Park Academy Public Charter - Middle School Steven Baker 
    College Park Academy Public Charter - High School Gordon Libby 
    Concord Elementary Dana Doggett, Acting
    Cooper Lane Elementary Kishawn Smith 
    Cora L. Rice Elementary Mickelli Dunn 
    Drew Freeman Middle School Dallas Lee
    Dr. Henry A. Wise High Byonka Gregory, Acting
    Excel Public Charter Chien Hwa Nee 
    Francis T. Evans Elementary Sonya Gaston, Acting 
    Friendly High Robin Pope-Brown, Acting
    Glenn Dale Elementary Heather Porterfield, Acting
    Green Valley Academy Nathan Newman
    Imagine Lincoln Public Charter Benjamin Roberts
    Imagine Public Charter - Morningside Jessica Johnson 
    J. Frank Dent Elementary Yolanda Coleman, Acting 
    James McHenry Elementary Harold McCray 
    John H. Bayne Elementary Erica Bennett
    John Hanson Montessori Zory Kenon III 
    Margaret Brent Regional Selena Pratt-Swilling
    Martin Luther King Middle School Rotunda Floyd-Cooper
    Overlook Spanish Immersion Betsy White, Acting 
    Riverdale Elementary Natiqua Riley, Acting
    Rosa Parks Elementary Rhonda Summey, Acting 
    Stephen Decatur Middle School Charity MaGruder 
    Suitland High Danny Miller, Acting
    Walker Mill Middle School Erin Cribbs



  •  -30-

    Prince George's County Public Schools (PGCPS), one of the nation's 25 largest school districts, has 208 schools and centers, more than 130,000 students and nearly 19,000 employees. Under the leadership of Chief Executive Officer Dr. Kevin M. Maxwell, the school system serves a diverse student population from urban, suburban and rural communities located in the Washington, DC suburbs. PGCPS is nationally recognized for innovative programs and initiatives that provide students with unique learning opportunities, including arts integration, environmental and financial literacy, and language immersion.