• On Wednesday, May 6, State Superintendent of Education Dr. Karen Salmon announced that all Maryland public schools will be closed for the remainder of the 2019-20 school year. 

    El miércoles, 6 de mayo, la Dra. Karen Salmon, superintendente de educación del estado, anunció que todas las escuelas públicas de Maryland permanecerán cerradas por el resto del año escolar 2019-20. 

    Le mercredi 6 mai, la Surintendante de l'éducation de l’État, Dr Karen Salmon, a annoncé que toutes les écoles publiques du Maryland resteront fermées pour le reste de l’année scolaire 2019-2020.

  • News Release: PGCPS Adds More Student Meal Sites

    News Release: PGCPS Adds More Student Meal Sites

    March 18, 2020
    For Immediate Release
    Office of Communications

    Student enrichment packets available at meal sites and online

    UPPER MARLBORO, MD — Starting Thursday, March 19, Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS) students can get “grab and go” meals at 10 new sites, bringing the total number to 36.

    In addition, student enrichment packets for use during the statewide school closings are now available at all meal sites and online for prekindergarten through 12th grade students. Packets are also available for students attending Community-Referenced Instruction programs, a special education program for high school students with special needs, or regional programs. The packets provide additional review in grade-level content areas.

    “This week we have served thousands of students at our meal sites,” said Dr. Monica Goldson, Chief Executive Officer. “I am committed to meeting the community demand by doing our best to help children with daily meals and making it easier for them to obtain learning enrichment packets. As a community, we are at our best when we come together.”

    The new student meal sites are Calverton, Clinton Grove, Gladys Noon Spellman, Laurel, Lewisdale, Springhill Lake, Thomas Stone and Waldon Woods elementary schools, and Benjamin Stoddert, Kettering and Oxon Hill middle schools. 

    Breakfast, lunch and a snack will be available weekdays from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. School system staff will be on hand to distribute meals in the cafeteria or parking lot depending on the weather. Students may pick up all three meals, which may include cold cereal, a sack lunch, fruit and milk, in one visit. Parents and guardians are not required to accompany students, but adults may not pick up meals for children. Student IDs are not required. 

    The full list of sites is below:

    Andrew Jackson Academy, 3500 Regency Parkway, Forestville

    Benjamin Stoddert Middle School, 2501 Olson Street, Temple Hills

    Benjamin Tasker Middle School, 4901 Collington Road, Bowie

    Buck Lodge Middle School, 2611 Buck Lodge Road, Adelphi

    Calverton Elementary, 3400 Beltsville Road, Beltsville

    Carmody Hills Elementary, 401 Jadeleaf Ave., Capitol Heights

    Clinton Grove Elementary, 9420 Temple Hill Road, Clinton

    District Heights Elementary, 2200 County Road, District Heights

    Drew-Freeman Middle School, 2600 Brooks Drive, Suitland

    Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School, 13725 Briarwood Drive, Laurel

    Gladys Noon Spellman Elementary, 3324 64th Avenue, Cheverly

    Hillcrest Heights Elementary, 4305 22nd Place, Temple Hills

    J. Frank Dent Elementary, 2700 Corning Ave., Fort Washington

    John Bayne Elementary, 7010 Walker Mill Road, Capitol Heights

    Judge Sylvania Woods Elementary, 3000 Church St., Glenarden

    Kenmoor Middle School, 2500 Kenmoor Drive, Landover

    Kettering Middle School, 65 Herrington Drive, Upper Marlboro

    Langley Park-McCormick Elementary, 8201 15th Ave., Hyattsville

    Laurel Elementary, 516 Montgomery St., Laurel

    Lewisdale Elementary, 2400 Banning Place, Hyattsville

    Longfields Elementary, 3300 Newkirk Ave., Forestville

    Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School, 4545 Ammendale Road, Beltsville

    Nicholas Orem Middle School, 6100 Editors Park Drive, Hyattsville

    Oxon Hill Middle School, 9570 Fort Foote Road, Fort Washington

    Port Towns Elementary, 4351 58th Ave., Bladensburg

    Samuel Chase Elementary, 5700 Fisher Road, Temple Hills

    Springhill Lake Elementary, 6060 Springhill Drive, Greenbelt

    Stephen Decatur Middle School, 8200 Pinewood Drive, Clinton

    Suitland Elementary, 4650 Towne Park Road, Suitland

    Templeton Elementary, 6001 Carters Lane, Riverdale

    Thomas S. Stone Elementary, 4500 34th Street, Mount Rainier

    Thurgood Marshall Middle School, 4909 Brinkley Road, Temple Hills

    Waldon Woods Elementary, 10301 Thrift Road, Clinton

    Walker Mill Middle School, 800 Karen Blvd., Capitol Heights

    William Paca Elementary, 7801 Sheriff Road, Landover

    William Wirt Middle School, 6200 Tuckerman St., Riverdale Park

    For more information, visit www.pgcps.org/coronavirus.

  •  -30-

    About PGCPS:  Prince George's County Public Schools (PGCPS), the nation's 20th largest school district, has 206 schools and centers, more than 136,500 students and 22,000 employees. Under the leadership of Dr. Monica Goldson, the school system serves a diverse student population from urban, suburban and rural communities located in the Washington, DC suburbs. PGCPS is nationally recognized for college and career-readiness programs that provide students with unique learning opportunities, including dual enrollment and language immersion.