Skip Navigation

Board of Education Approved Focus Work Groups

English Language Learners (ELL) (End Date: May 2021)

  • Raaheela Ahmed, Prince George's County Board of Education, Board Member Distirct 5, Co-Chair
  • Ninah Jackson, Prince George's County Board of Education, Student Member of the Board, Co-Chair
  • Selma Basmaci, ESOL Department Chair, Oxon Hill High School
  • Jessica Garcia Bocaletti, SGA President, International High School @ Langley Park
  • Janna Parker, Community Activist 
  • Sandra Romualdo, SGA President, Student
  • Maritza Solano, Director of Education, Casa de Maryland

Climate Change Action Plan (End Date: January 2022) 

Visit Climate Change Action Plan (CCAP) Focus Work Group website

  • Pamela Boozer-Strother, Prince George's County Board of Education, Board Member Distirct 3, Chair
  • Donald Belle, William S. Schmidt Environmental Center, Environmental Outreach Educator
  • Ja'bari Woodberry, Student
  • Nithin Gudderra, Student
  • Breanna Malcolm, Student
  • Nanette Amihere, PGCPS Alum, Class of 2021
  • Asia Gray, PGCPS Alum, Class of 2021
  • Mary Lehman, Maryland House of Delegates, Delegate MD-21
  • Deni Taveras, Prince George's County Council, Council Member District
  • Sonya Williams, Prince George's County Board of Education, Board Member Distirct 9
  • Donald Goldberg, Climate Law & Policy Project (CLPP), Executive Director and Founder
  • Ramón Palencia-Calvo, MD LCV/La Chispa, Deputy Executive Director
  • Michael Harris, Bowie State University, Capital Project Manager
  • Chloe Waterman, Food Equity Council/Friends of the Earth, Climate-Friendly Food Purchasing Program
  • Marita Roos, Neighborhood Design Center, Landscape Programs Director
  • Dawn Holton, Capital Programs Mechanical Engineer, A/E Design Supervisor/Senior Mechanical Engineer
  • Jamee Alston, Building Services, Management Analyst Energy Coordinator, Management Analyst with the Division of Supporting Services
  • David Hill, Transportation Operation Supervisor, Transportation Operations Supervisor
  • Martin Diggs, ACE/AFSCME, LOCAL 2250, AFL-CIO, President
  • Joseph Jakuta, Climate Parents of Prince George's, Lead Volunteer
  • Alveta Addison, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Michele Smith, Largo High School, Assistant Principal
  • Valerie Ervin, Prince George’s County Public Schools, Liaison to CEO
  • Kate Culzoni, Volunteer Facilitator
  • David W. Smith Sr., Prince George's County Board of Education, Board Staff

School to Prison Pipeline 

  • Edward Burroughs, III, PGCPS Board of Education Board Of Education representative, Chair
  • Krystal Oriadha, Prince George’s ChangeMakers Coalition, Co-Chair
  • Alvaro Ceron-Ruiz, Prince George’s County Public Schools Student Board Member
  • Carletta Marrow, Prince George’s County Public Schools, Associate Superintendent for High Schools
  • Valerie Ervin, Prince George’s County Public Schools, Special Assistant to the CEO
  • Ashanti Martinez, CASA de Maryland
  • Amity Pope, Prince George’s County Education Association
  • Ellie Mitchell, Maryland Out of School Time
  • Gerrod Tyler, Parent of PGCPS Student
  • Janna Parker, Maryland Alliance for Racial Equity in Education
  • Jarriel Jordan, Sr, Jacob's Ladder
  • Jazz Lewis, Maryland State Delegate
  • Michele Hall, Prince George's County Public Defender
  • Toni Mejias, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees
  • Shamoyia Gardiner, Strong Schools of Maryland
  • Michael Glynn, Prince George County State's Attorney Office
  • Hugh Weathers, Association of Supervisory & Administrative School Personnel

Visit School to Prison Pipeline Focus Work Group website