Skip Navigation

Board Bylaw 9110 - Number of Members and Terms of Office


The Prince George’s County Board of Education consists of fourteen members, including a student member. Nine members are elected based on school district, three members are appointed by the Prince George’s County Executive and one member is appointed by the Prince George’s County Council as provided by Maryland statute. All elected and appointed members serve for a four-year term, unless appointed to fulfill a vacant seat.

The student member is elected annually by the Prince George’s Regional Association of Student Governments (PGRASG) for a one-year term.

Legal Reference: MD Ann. Code, Educ Art §3-1002.

About This Policy

Updated March 21, 2017