• Saturday, January 18, 2020: All athletics, extracurricular and professional development activities for Saturday, January 18, 2020 are cancelled due to the impending inclement weather.

     Sábado, 18 de enero: Todas las actividades deportivas, extraescolares y del desarrollo profesional del sábado, 18 de enero han sido canceladas debido al mal tiempo.

Communications / Awards and Recognition / Teacher of the Year
  • Teacher of the Year

    Teacher of the Year

    Congratulations to our 2019 Teacher of the Year Angelica Brooks!

    Angelica Brooks, choral director at Bowie High School, was named the 2019 Teacher of the Year during a black tie event on Saturday, May 4, at The Hotel at the University of Maryland. Geraldine Joan Rosos, ESOL teacher at Cooper Lane Elementary School, was first runner-up. >>Read the press release


    2019 Teacher of the Year Nominees

    The following educators were nominated for Teacher of the Year. Those in bold were finalists for the award.

    • Lynson Ablaza, Science Teacher, International High School at Largo
    • Mercy Alzate-Lynch, Science Teacher (Chair), Templeton Elementary School
    • Charlotte Avery, Technology Teacher, Benjamin Tasker Middle School
    • Ericka Banks, General Music Teacher, Ardmore Elementary School
    • Angelica Brooks, Choral Director, Bowie High School – WINNER
    • Yolonda Body, Middle School Reading Teacher, Accokeek Academy
    • Kim Brent, Grade 2 Teacher, Avalon Elementary School
    • Patricia Brooks-Mackall, Kindergarten Teacher, Samuel P. Massie Academy
    • Kelly Burgess, AVID Teacher, Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School – FINALIST
    • Katrina Davis, General Education Teacher & Grade Level Chair, Judith P. Hoyer Montessori School – FINALIST
    • Dr. Selena Fizer-Muse, Kindergarten Teacher, Deerfield Run Elementary School
    • Christine Gilliard-Arthur, Physical Education & Health Teacher & Athletic Director, International High School at Langley Park – FINALIST
    • Leasa Gudderra, General Education Teacher, Gwynn Park High School
    • Chloe Hill, Grade 5 Co-Teacher & Autism Chair, Paint Branch Elementary School
    • Lisa Holinsworth, Grade 3 Math/Science Teacher, Greenbelt Elementary School
    • Mariluz Mendez-Rodriguez, Kindergarten Teacher, Cesar Chavez Dual Language Spanish
    • Charles Mills, Math Teacher, Eleanor Roosevelt High School
    • Cashana Morrison, Grade 3 Teacher, Robert R. Gray Elementary School
    • Kimberly Willis Nickens, Grade 2 Teacher, Dodge Park Elementary School
    • Dr. Tracy Oates, Grade 7 RELA Teacher & Professional Development Lead Teacher, Greenbelt Middle School
    • Jessica Ramirez, Grade 3 Teacher, Edward M. Felegy Elementary School
    • Colleen Raville, Grade 8 Social Studies Teacher, Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
    • Geraldine Joan Rosos, ESOL Resource Teacher, Cooper Lane Elementary School – 1st RUNNER-UP
    • Jessica Schiery, Grade 5 Teacher, Perrywood Elementary School Immersion School

    2019 Sponsors and Partners

    The 2019 Teacher of the Year received a number of awards, recognitions and gifts from our sponsors and partners:


    Car Sponsors - Pohanka Honda, NAI Michael Billboard Sponsor - Clear Channel Outdoor

    High Achiever Sponsors - Educational Systems Federal Credit Union, Kaiser Permanente

    Principal's Honor Roll Sponsors - CareFirst, Eastern Food Services, McGraw-Hill, Sodexo Magic, University of Maryland University College

    VIP Reception Sponsor - BW Communications, Inc.

    Honor Roll Sponsors - County Council Chair Todd M. Turner, District 4; Excellence in Education Foundation;Six Flags

    In-Kind Donation Sponsors - Gold's Gym - Ritchie Station, Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament, MGM National Harbor, Starbucks

    About the Award

    Organized by the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE), the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program recognizes the work being done by the state’s outstanding teachers. Drawing from a pool of nominees representing each county, one individual teacher is selected for the honor of representing Maryland in the National Teacher of the Year competition.


    Teacher of the Year is the most prestigious award teachers can receive! To be eligible, all nominees must at least be in their sixth year of teaching, and plan to remain a teacher in their nominating county for the following school year. Nominees must be willing and able to spend time away from the classroom serving as advocates for public education and acting as local and state advisors in education policy and program development.

    Contact Information

    Teacher of the Year Round Table – For questions about the application, selection process, orientation day or what it takes to be a Teacher of the Year, email toty.alumni@pgcps.org.

    Teacher of the Year Ceremony – For questions about the awards ceremony and sponsorship opportunities, call the Office of Partnerships and Development at 301-952-6380.