Skip Navigation

News Release: DuVal High School Educator Named 2022 Christa McAuliffe Outstanding Teacher

June 13, 2022
For Immediate Release

Office of Communications

UPPER MARLBORO, MD – DuVal High School science teacher Dr. Terri Dove is the recipient of the 2022 Christa McAuliffe Outstanding Teacher Award from Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS). Dr. Dove has been serving students as a science teacher for 10 years. 

“Dr. Dove’s ongoing dedication to lifelong learning and engaging students in science epitomizes the spirit of this award,” said Dr. Monica Goldson, Chief Executive Officer. "Her commitment to ensuring high achievement in science inspires and develops future scientists, engineers and mathematicians."

This is not the first time Dr. Dove has been recognized as an exceptional educator. The Maryland Association of Science Teachers (MAST) presented her with an Outstanding Educator Award in 2020 and she received a PGCPS Outstanding Educator Award in 2017.

As Professional Development Lead Teacher (PDLT) at her school, she shares her wealth of knowledge with colleagues through weekly instructional strategy emails and provides one-on-one and small group training. She is both a presenter and an invited attendee at national conferences.

“One of Dr. Dove's most striking qualities is her passion and commitment to high student achievement in science,” said principal Pamela Smith.”She is a creative, resourceful and effective educator whose classroom environment is student-centered and engaging.”

Dr. Dove was recognized and presented with this year’s Christa McAuliffe Award during a surprise classroom visit from PGCPS administrators today. Students in the school’s pom squad and band made the celebration memorable. Her name will also be added to the Christa McAuliffe award plaque at the Sasscer Administration Building in Upper Marlboro.

Other nominees included Kadia Brown, Imagine Foundations at Leeland Public Charter School; Stephanie Lee, Templeton Elementary School; Mary Lorena, Templeton Elementary School; Carolyn Sauer, Kenilworth Elementary School; Jacob Scott, International High School at Langley Park; Arnold Somera, International High School at Langley Park; and Bernadith Tan-Piengco, Templeton Elementary School. 

The Christa McAuliffe Award honors an outstanding educator based on competitive standards of excellence established by other teachers. The award is a tribute to McAuliffe, the Teacher-In-Space who lost her life aboard the space shuttle Challenger in January 1986. McAuliffe taught in Prince George’s County from 1971 to 1978

View photo gallery