Skip Navigation

News Release: Kingsford and Whitehall Elementary Schools Honored For Excellence In Gifted And Talented Education

January 19, 2023
For Immediate Release

Office of Communications

Kingsford Elementary School Earns First-Ever TAG Designation

UPPER MARLBORO, MD — Kingsford and Whitehall elementary schools have earned the 2023 Maryland Excellence in Gifted and Talented Education (EGATE) Schools designation, bringing the total to 21 in Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS).  

The EGATE Award recognizes public schools that offer superior and equitable gifted and talented education. 

“Access to quality gifted and talented programs is key to ensuring advanced learners meet their full potential,” said Dr. Monica Goldson, Chief Executive Officer. “These schools go above and beyond to serve as a model for rigorous academic standards for students.”

The designation is a first for Kingsford and the second for Whitehall. The application process requires school teams to document how their school’s gifted and talented education program aligns with state guidelines. 

Both schools will be honored at a virtual statewide Gifted and Talented Award Ceremony on Tuesday, February 28. Additionally, more than 30 PGCPS educators, administrators, students and parents will be recognized as individual award winners for their work in gifted education.

2023 Talented and Gifted (TAG) Honorees:


Benjamin Tasker Middle School TAG Parent Group 


Dr. McKenna Lewis, Heather Hills Elementary School 

Stephanie Barber-Wehrman, Judge Sylvania Woods Elementary School 


Mia Beasey, Benjamin Tasker Middle School

Arna Gumgol, Benjamin Tasker Middle School 

Lauren London, Benjamin Tasker Middle School 

Makaylah Butler, Capitol Heights Elementary School 

Elaina Davis, Capitol Heights Elementary School 

Nicholas Williams-Thomas, Capitol Heights Elementary School 

Hannah Pierre Louis, Kenmoor Middle School 

Gabrielle Nunyi, Kenmoor Middle School 

Zoey Zhang, Kenmoor Middle School 

Njambi Kamenwa, Kenmoor Middle School 

Stephen Albert, Kenmoor Middle School 

Alexander Rivero, Paint Branch Elementary School 

Morgan Riley, Walker Mill Middle School 

Angela Saville, Walker Mill Middle School 

Ayshat Akeremi, Walker Mill Middle School 

Layla Hutchinson, Walker Mill Middle School 


Andrea Rushing, Capitol Heights Elementary School 

Bridget McCoy, Capitol Heights Elementary School 

Kori Edwards, Capitol Heights Elementary School 

Cama-Kalee Wilson, Cherokee Lane Elementary 

Carol Carter, Kenmoor Middle School 

Benjamin Murphy, Kenmoor Middle School 

Arlayna Willis, Thomas G. Pullen Creative and Performing Arts School 

Alyse Latney, Valley View Elementary School 

Chelsea Maza, Walker Mill Middle School Teacher 

Jill Piazza, Whitehall Elementary School

Jennifer Monath, Whitehall Elementary School 

Rebecca White, Yorktown Elementary School