Skip Navigation

SY 2016-17 Boundary Discussions

SY16-17 Community Discussions

Approved Changes

During the February 23rd Board of Education meeting the changes listed below were approved by the Board of Education for the 2017-18 school year.

Check if there are approved changes for your address using SchoolFinder

Compruebe si hay cambios aprobados para su dirección usando SchoolFinder en español

*Please note that the proposed change to Accokeek Academy was not approved and the item will be reexamined at a later date which has not yet been determined.  

Boundary Changes

The portion of Calverton Elementary that is currently assigned to Buck Lodge Middle will instead be assigned to Martin L. King Jr. Middle for grades 6-8.

The portion of Melwood Elementary that is currently assigned to Stephen Decatur Middle will instead be assigned to James Madison Middle for grades 6-8.

New enrollments from the homes located in the Kaywood Gardens Apartment complex, the City of North Brentwood, and the City of Brentwood that are east of 38th Street and south of the intersection of Volta Avenue and 39th Street that are currently assigned to Thomas Stone Elementary will instead be assigned to Mt. Rainier Elementary for grades PreK-6.

The portion of the Kentland neighborhood in Landover that is currently assigned to Duval High will instead be assigned to Fairmont Heights High for grades 9-12.

Grade Structure Changes

After the 2016-2017  school year, sixth-grade students from the following elementary schools will be assigned to their neighborhood middle school:

  • Ardmore ES (Ernest Everett Just MS)
  • Carmody Hills ES (G James Gholson MS)
  • Clinton Grove ES (Gwynn Park MS / Stephen Decatur MS)
  • Cora L Rice ES (G James Gholson MS)
  • District Heights ES (Drew-Freeman MS)
  • Flintstone ES (Oxon Hill MS)
  • Francis Scott Key ES (Drew-Freeman MS)
  • Glassmanor ES (Oxon Hill MS)
  • Kingsford ES (Ernest Everett Just MS)
  • Oxon Hill ES (Oxon Hill MS)
  • Rose Valley ES (Isaac Gourdine MS)
  • Valley View ES (Oxon Hill MS / Thurgood Marshall MS)
  • William Beanes ES (Drew-Freeman MS)

    Phase 2: Public Hearings / Board Meetings

Prince George’s County Public Schools will hold two public hearings to obtain public comment on recommended improvements to school boundaries and grade structure.

Persons wishing to testify at these public hearings must sign up to speak by calling the Department of Pupil Accounting and School Boundaries at 301-952-6300 before 4:30 p.m. the day of the hearing. Speakers will be limited to 3 minutes. Written comments may be submitted by email to, by mail or in person at 14201 School Lane, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772.   

February 8, 2017
Bladensburg High School, Cafeteria
4200 57th Ave, Bladensburg, MD 20710
6:30 p.m.

February 9, 2017
Board Room, Sasscer Administration Building
14201 School Lane, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
6:30 p.m.

Presentation for Public Hearings 

(presentación en español)

First Reader to BOE on boundary and grade changes




Phase 1: Community Discussions

Prince George’s County Public Schools invited parents, students, and community member to participate in Community Discussions to continue an open dialog on opportunities to balance enrollment in the district, among other changes. These meetings were conducted on October 20, 26, and 27 at James Madison Middle School, Accokeek Academy and Bladensburg High School respectively. Additionally, follow-up meetings were held on December 8 at Thomas Stone Elementary School and December 14 at Potomac Landing Elementary School. Please follow the links below to obtain further information about these meetings